First visit

The first visit and the next steps

During your first visit, you will meet your personal doctor. She will reserve up to an hour's time for you. All our doctors will respond flexibly to the individual circumstances of each couple. For this reason, we do not follow a fixed consultation and treatment pattern.

In some couples, no prior investigations have been made into the factors which could be responsible for the fact that no pregnancy has occurred - in these cases, we will recommend some comprehensive diagnostics first.

In other couples, it may make sense to carry out further diagnostics in addition to the existing examinations. A still further group of patients will already have received comprehensive information as well as a full diagnostic work-up and possibly therapy by other centres.

After a careful diagnostic process, the doctor will discuss the possible therapies including their pros and cons, the individual steps of the therapy as well as their chances, risks and costs. Of course, she will also recommend a specific therapy and explain which approach should be chosen from a purely medical point of view.

We will inform you about your chances of success - realistically and without promising more than we can keep. The therapy will always depend on the treatment intensity the couple is willing to accept.

Erstgespräch

Das Erstgespräch selbst und der weitere Verlauf

Beim Erstgespräch lernen Sie Ihre behandelnde Ärztin kennen. Sie nimmt sich bis zu einer Stunde Zeit für Sie. Alle Ärztinnen gehen individuell auf jedes Patientenpaar ein und holen das Paar dort ab, wo es gerade steht. Deswegen gibt es bei uns auch keinen fest vorgegebenen Beratungs- und Behandlungsablauf.

Bei manchen Paaren wurde noch gar nicht nach Faktoren geschaut, die eine Rolle spielen können, wenn eine Schwangerschaft auf sich warten lässt – dann ist zunächst eine umfassende Diagnostik empfehlenswert.

Bei anderen Paaren kann es auch sinnvoll sein, zusätzlich zu bereits vorhandenen Untersuchungen  noch ergänzende diagnostische Maßnahmen zu vereinbaren. Wieder andere Paare sind nach eventuell bereits vorangegangenen Behandlungen durch andere Zentren bereits sehr umfassend informiert und auch diagnostiziert.

Mit jedem Paar  bespricht  die behandelnde Ärztin  nach sorgfältiger Diagnostik mögliche Therapien jeweils mit Vor- und Nachteilen, Ablauf, Chancen, Risiken und Kosten. Natürlich gibt sie dann auch eine konkrete Therapieempfehlung und erklärt,  welchen Weg sie aus ihrer fortpflanzungsmedizinischen Sicht  gehen  würde.

Wir informieren über Erfolgsaussichten – realistisch und nicht beschönigend. Entscheidend für das therapeutische Vorgehen ist immer der Grad der für das Patientenpaar zum jeweiligen Zeitpunkt akzeptablen Maßnahmen.